Recipes I want to try 

I have injured my ankle in a  s t u p i d  way. Like, really stupid. I was sitting in a waiting room and when I got up, I didn’t realize that my left leg was a sleep so when I shifted my weight from my right leg to the left, the left didn’t correspond accordingly but instead my ankle sort of collapsed underneath me. Causing me to lose my balance and fall over, nose first, desperately reaching out for the nearest chair but miss and instead stroke a lady down her legs. 
Now I’m on the couch with my ankle in a brace and on top of a pillow and outside its the hottest days of the summer and while I start getting aggravated at least five times a day, I try to remind myself of all the good things I have and that I still can do, instead of all of the things that I obviously cannot do. Like walk. Or run. Or swim. I’m not very mobile because the relationship between me and my crutches  is, uhmmmm, difficult to say the least.

I had hoped, I would be better by now when the doctor told me to go home, put some ice on it and elevate my leg 10 days ago. I definitely expected to be skipping by the time of our trip to Florida this month. But then today,  a salesman at the car dealership told me the veeeeery encouraging story about how the exact same thing had happened to him and how he had to use crutches for THREE months and that he had chosen not to get surgery, but now regretted it because every single time he walked on an unlevel surface, he was in pain. Oh, and how a friend of his has just undergone aforementioned surgery.Thanks a lot for that sunshine story, buddy. 

Anyways, one thing I CAN do, however, is spend a lot of time online and I don’t have to wear pants. Here are five recipes I found while browsing around that I can’t wait to try!

  
1.

Healthy Zucchini Bread. We bought a big bag of zucchini at Costco this weekend and Justin also got a couple of big ones from a colleague, so there’s zucchini on the menu this week! This zucchini bread looks really delicious. So delicious, that I might have to turn on the oven even though it’s already hot enough.

   
   

   2. 

Roasted zucchini burgers with garlic whipped feta. I’ve already established I’m a big zucchini fan and feta is also on the list of favorites so this seems like a match made in heaven to me.



  

3.

This Vegan Caesar Salad looks like the perfect summer night dinner. Simple, green and fresh.

  
4. 

Double tomato pesto spaghetti with zucchini noodles. As I mentioned above, we have a ton of zucchini right now and are also on some sort of ongoing tomato kick, so this seems like a winner!

  
5.

Banana coconut and chia Popsicles. It’s summer and this looks like the perfect cool-down treat. I want to try these, too! I need to get some popsicle molds asap. 

Leave a Reply

