Banana and oat muffins


I spent the first part of the day painting and caulking. Oh, caulking and I, we go way back. Painting things or walls or ceilings isn’t a problem, but caulking? I hate it. And usually it involves a lot of swearing and re-doing and chanting to “just a little bit more, a little bit more” to myself through the entire process. Man, I was dreading it this morning when I was gathering my tools and filling up my bucket of water. And then something unexpected happened. It was magic! All of a sudden the little caulk-smoothing-tool worked! The same tool I’ve ended up throwing across the room every other time I’ve attempted to use it. I won’t go as far to say I’m anywhere near expertise in caulking (is that even a term?) but at least I didn’t feel like poking out my eye balls out like I usually do when I look at the result. So, progress! Yay. Oh, not only didn’t I get overwhelmed with aggression but when I finished the line countertop confidently  I even felt the urge continue around our shower. And so I did. Was that pushing it a little too far? Maybe. I’ll definitely admit the frustration level went up a bit as time passed.

But! Now it’s done and I’m happy I spent Sunday afternoon baking these little suckers. Or, not the entire afternoon because they are super quick to whip up. And they’re sort of healthy. You can even cut back on the honey a bit more, because the bananas make them plenty sweet. And really good. I’m having one with a cup of coffee right now and I’ll highly recommend them. Give it a go!

Sugar free and flourless banana oat muffins (makes 12)

  • 2 1/2 cups raw oats
  • 1 cup plain yogurt
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 tea spoons vanilla
  • 2 tea spoons baking soda
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 1 cup blueberries
  • chocolate chips (I’m going to let it be up to you how crazy you want to go here, ok?)

Combine all ingredients in a big bowl and mix well. Scoop into a lined cupcake pan and bake for 15 minutes in a 400-degree oven.

 

 

Leave a Reply

