Easy veggie pasta

 

nummer 1

Happy Sunday! We’re lounging around and doing all the good Sunday things. As I’m typing this I’m sitting wrapped up in my little comforter with a cup of coffee and all is good. As far as weekend plans go, this weekend has been “no plans” and it has been absolutely delightful.

But that wasn’t what this was supposed to be about. I’ll get back to the point which was this really good veggie pasta. I love cooking. I like to think of myself as a decent cook and I like to find new challenging recipes to follow. This, however, isn’t one of them. This is one of my go-to dishes, if not THE go-to dish around here. It’s barely a recipe. And it can be changed up in a million different ways. What makes it my go-to dish probably also have quite a lot to do with the fact that the ingredients are pretty much kitchen staples for me which makes it even easier to whip up. I have made a variation of this dish numerous times, but last time I made a couple a little change that to me made quite a difference. Instead of chopping the vegetables into chunky pieces as I usually do, I chopped them in the food processor. The finer chop makes it a little bit more as a chunky pesto-ey style sauce. Either way, try it out! Find the recipe after the jump.

IMG_0643

 

Serves two for dinner

Ingredients

  • Olive oil
  • Half red onion
  • Three cloves of garlic (more or less to suit your taste)
  • Zucchini
  • A handful of mushrooms
  • Two small handfuls of tomatoes
  • Salt, pepper, basil, and red pepper flakes to taste
  • Your favorite pasta
  • Parmesan cheese

Rinse and prepare the vegetables. Chop the onion and garlic (either by hand or in a food processor), slice the zucchini thinly, and chop the tomatoes and mushrooms. Bring a pot of water to boil for the pasta and cook it al dente while you cook the vegetables.

 

photo 2

Heat up the oil in a large skillet over medium heat and add the onion, garlic, and a little bit of red pepper flakes. Let the onion soften for a minute before adding the zucchini. Then add the tomatoes, mushrooms, salt, pepper, and basil.

photo 3

Cook over medium heat for about 5-6 minutes. Add the pasta and mix well.

Serve with grated parmesan and freshly cracked pepper. I had this for lunch with a little caprese inspired salad on the side and it was really great.

You can eat it as it is or serve alongside meat or fish. Enjoy!

photo 4

Leave a Reply

